About MiEnergy

MiEnergy Cooperative was formed in 2017 from the merger of Hawkeye REC and Tri-County Electric Cooperative.

Hawkeye REC was founded in 1936 and since then the membership has covered a range of home, farm, business and commercial consumers in Chickasaw, Howard and Winneshiek counties in Iowa. Before the merger with Tri-County Electric Cooperative, HREC had about 6,700 electrical services.

Tri-County Electric Cooperative was founded in 1936 when power was not available to rural residents. Local citizens banded together to build lines going out to their homes and farms. For 80 years, TEC served three counties in Minnesota including Winona, Houston and Fillmore and parts of Olmsted and Mower counties and also served portions of Howard, Winneshiek and Allamakee counties in Iowa. Before the merger with Hawkeye REC, TEC had about 15,000 electrical services.

Our Team

Board of Directors

District 1: District 2: District 3: District 4: District 5:

Dennis Ptacek 

Dean Nierling

Don Petersen

Charles Frana Beth Olson
Jeff Redalen Ron Stevens
Dennis Young Dean Fisher Jenny Scharmer
Darla Rance   Skip Wieser Carl Reicks  
Roger Hegland        


map showing districts